Hotpotch

So I received my Ravelry invite and I have spent a large proportion of my time on there in the last two days. So much, in fact, I haven’t lifted a knitting needle in two days. Irony, huh?

I do love it though. I can see it costing me a fortune in patterns and yarn though. So much for a cheap hobby. I have started on my Striped Noro Scarf. I couldn’t help it. I have been drooling over this since I saw it in BrooklynTweed‘s blog. I had to have one. I have no impulse control.

Other tidbits that have been happening.

After the sterling performance (read – amazing french) from James Marsters in Torchwood, I had to go back and give the series another go. I tried to watch it when it first came out (along with the new Doctor Who) but it just didn’t take. I hated the Welsh accents. They always sound so fake to me. (Sorry all the Welsh peeps.) I also couldn’t see past John Barrowman. I remember him as a children’s presenter and his absolute white teeth used to distract me no end. However, after persevering, watching the first season, I do have to re-evaluate Mr. Barrowman. He does actually have this weird sexual chemistry with almost everyone. His acting can still be a bit broad, a little to theatre for me, but he has managed to eke a compelling character from what could have easily descended into sillyness and screaming campness. I never thought I would say this but Torchwood has just made my ‘must watch’ TV.

If you want to have huge hits on your blog, just give your entry the tags of Wentworth Miller and watch them flood in. Seriously.

  1. Welcome to Ravelry!
    Ha, I’ll forgive you for hating my accent.I saw John Barrowman in pantomine two Christmases ago, and he was terrible. Even my two year old sister started pointing at him shouting “yuck!”

    • Sayuri_x
    • January 24th, 2008

    Heh. I should clarify, I have Welsh friends and I love thier accents. It’s just when I hear it on TV, it sounds fake to me and I’m not sure if it’s because actors automatically play into it more.

    • inkandindigo
    • January 24th, 2008

    Ha, no trust me, I understand why it’s possible to hate it, especially the Newport/Cardiff accent which does sound rather odd. I always feel guiltily happy when people are surprised that I’m Welsh. I’ve got a completely a-regional accent.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

