Cowboys And Angels

So the time has come for me to gush and wax lyrical about my new literary crush.

I have just finished Meljean Brook’s fantabulous Demon Night.

I’m almost beyond words. I can’t seem to find the right combination to tell you all intelligently, how well written, tightly plotted and heartwarming this book is because all I want to do is go:-

I LOVE THIS BOOK. LOVE, LUUURVE, THIS FRIGGIN’ BOOK.

I feel like a teenager again, unable to communicate with anyone and forced into just squealing random adjectives in a high giggly voice.

AMAZING, AWESOME, HAWT!, WONDERFUL, ROMANTIC, HAWT!! DREAMY.

But I will stomp on that teenager and tell her to sit quiet while I try to explain in rational terms, why I loved this book so much.

It is classed as a Paranormal Romance, but basically it’s Urban Fantasy with a little more focus on the romantic aspects of the main characters relationship. There is still plenty of action and mystery to quench even the hardiest of readers.

Charlie Newcombe is a recovering addict. Drink, drugs and an ex-con to boot, she has done it all. An aspiring opera singer who had her voice stolen from her in a druken car wreck, she now is struggling to live her life without her crutches of the past.

Ethan McCabe is a ‘Guardian’. A cowboy outlaw who is atoning for his past sins by protecting humans from whatever they need protecting from. Right now that’s Charlie, who faces a danger she is not aware of.

Vampires have been sent to ‘turn’ Charlie, in a bid to force her sister, Jane (a brilliant scientist.), to help a cadre of demons find a scietific breakthrough which could bring about a chilling prophecy.

That’s about it. I’m not a great one for giving descriptions, they always sound to melodramatic and really fucking lame. Suffice to say, the book centers around Charlie and Ethan and how they deal with the threat looming and each other.

What I love about this book.

Ethan. He’s a cowboy (with a drawl) and an angel (kind of.) What more could you want. He’s hot, sexy and did I mention HAWT! When I picture him in my mind’s eye I see a cross between Nathan Fillon and Jensen Ackles. But much bigger. Ethan is 6’6″.He is also is charming and self-deprecating and still a little bit parochial about some things (but defintely not about others.) His voice in the book is really distinctive and Meljean hits his cadence and timbre perfect every time. It never jarrs or seems out of place in a modern setting.

Charlie. Charlie is not you typical heroine. She isn’t kick-ass (which a lot of then are nowadays, it’s the fashion but it has to be done well, re: Jennifer Rardin.), but she isn’t a complete emotional wreck either. She is needy but recognises it and takes steps to prevent or lessen that trait. She isn’t whiny and she is living her life her way, with no apologies and no excuses.

There are no ‘fake’ or ‘overly manufactured’ reasons why they don’t get together. Reasons are plausible and talked about. There are no tragic misunderstandings, melodramtic uncoverings of deceit etc and when there is no reason for them not to be together they actually get it on…more than once. Oh yes. It’s not really a worksafe book. Not unless you want to spend the whole day frustrated, that is.

We get a ‘Happy Ever After’. I’m not sure when that became a dirty word for authors but when I invest my time in a book, I want a friggin’ happy ending. I want it to have been for a reason. I don’t care if it’s not real life, cause I ain’t reading about real life. I want them to beat the big bad and live happily ever after, having lots of hot sex and even babies if they want them.

What I don’t like about this book.

Erm, nothing.

Anyways, there you go.

My top ten list of literary boyfriends just got a new entry right in at No.1

1. Ethan McCabe (Demon Night)

2. Vayl (Jaz Parks Series)

3. Harry Dresden (Dresden Files)

4. Japhrimel (Dante Valentine Series)

5. Heathcliff (Wuthering Heights)

6. Rohan (Dragon Star Series)

7. John Taylor (Nightside Series)

8. Lan (Wheel Of Time)

9. Perrin (Wheel Of Time)

10.Felix Castor (Mike Carey)

I’m a fucking dork.

    • ciaralira
    • March 25th, 2008

    I finished this book today and I LOVED IT SOOOO MUCH!!! Ethan is my perfect hero. Le sigh. Meljean is awesome. Her characters are complex – like Real People!

    • Sayuri_x
    • March 25th, 2008

    Heh!

    I’m going to join you in that *Le sigh*

    Drifter is just perfect though, right? I had this huge grin on my face when he finally turned up in Demon Moon.

    Although I have just finished Demon Angel and I think I fell a little bit in love with Hugh as well. Not so much Colin but he funny. He would make me laugh. Which is never a bad thing.

    I’m kinda glad I read these out of sequence. It gives me the excuse to go back and read them all again!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

