Present

I am here. I am alive.

I’m just having fun, working, getting to know my new workmates and reading my ass off. Seriously I haven’t turned a TV on in two weeks and I have discovered the e-book.

I want an iLiad. I know, not another gadget.

But it means I can get rid of all the books I have kept because I might want to read them again, (Though in all probability won’t.) It means my collection will remain intact and I shall have space, blessed space. The digital age is a great thing for us hoarders.

I’ll still keep my most favs that I can’t bear to be without. My Terry Pratchett’s, Meljean Brook, Jim Butcher and Jennifer Rardin. The rest can go.

    • Sue
    • March 25th, 2008

    Oh yes, definitely. I’m a hoarder extraordinaire, and I so want a Kindle from Amazon for ebooks. I mean, there will be no room for me to live soon, with all my bookshelves.

    It’s kinda like all the space I saved since I got an ipod and buy most of my music online…

    Sue

    • Sayuri_x
    • March 26th, 2008

    I looked at the Kindle but they are just so goddamn ugly…..and you can’t use any other format than amazon’s format. I hate being limited.

    Iliad will play most formats and looks a little nicer although what I really would like to see is some super sexy little apple number. THAT I would buy in a heart-beat!

    • Qouda
    • March 27th, 2008

    Nope sorry – cannot agree with you on this one at all – it’s as much about the sensory experience of reading a real book as the story – and I cannot comfortably look at a screen for anything like as long as I can read from a paper page…

    • Sayuri_x
    • March 27th, 2008

    I know,

    I will still have to buy my favourites because you are right, it’s about the feel of the paper etc, but surprisingly, I can and have read and entire book on the computer screen and it wasn’t that bad.

    Plus the readers have something called e-paper which makes it much easier to read seemingly…..

    • Sue
    • March 28th, 2008

    Oooh yes, if Apple put anything out like this, I’d also buy it in a heartbeat. Me loves Apple.
    Sue

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

