Blaze

I love a good category romance. They’re like tablet (which is Scottish candy made of sugar and condensed milk.) to me. They’re sweet, they’re gone before you know it and they get me so incredibly high. I love them. I am addicted to the Blaze line from Harelquin. Mainly cause I love the covers and also because there is usally a passable story in amongst all the hawt sex. There are usually no Greek/Itialian/Arabian tycoon/billionaire and no secretary/virgin/mistress to have his secret baby/revenge marriage. That’s not to say I don’t love a good ‘The Greek Tycoon’s Virgin Misstress’ Secret Baby Bargin,’ once in a while. But the Blaze titles seem to be a little more down to earth.

I subscribe (shock horror) and get six titles every month. You get to know the authors and I usually glom authors that I have enjoyed. I know the Blaze line has it’s detractors and that’s because when it’s done badly it sucks the big one. And this month has a freakin insanely bad title. And it’s written by a repeat offender. This is the second time this writer has done this to me. Let me show you.

Exhibit A:

Lie with me by Cara Summers.

It looks innocent enough. The cover is great. All blue sea and sky. The couple on the front look like they are about to have some fun. He is hot (which is not always the case with Blaze models) and she has an ass I would kill for. So far so good. Then I see the author and I think ok, so she wrote the only Blaze book I haven’t been able to finish which was ‘A Sexy Time Of It.’ It was a horrendously untidy meshing of time-travel/murder mystery/romance and it was so bad if I had the print copy I would have burned it. But, everyone is entitled to a humdinger in their back catalogue. I try not to judge so I read the blurb for this book.

Corfu’s exotic beaches are a matchless place to meet true love…or at least to have a fabulous fling! And that’s exactly what Philly Angelis needs. After all, she’s a survivor of unrequited love…and an embarrassingly rejected sexual proposition. Fleeing to Greece to soak in its sexy magic–as well as to find a hot guy to take her mind off her longtime crush, Roman Oliver–seems the perfect antidote.

Roman can’t believe what he’s doing. Philly is his best friend’s little sister–definitely hands-off! So why is he following her to Corfu? And why is he taking her outrageously delicious sexual proposition seriously? Maybe because Philly’s all woman now–a woman who knows exactly what she wants. And, God help him, Roman’s going to give it to her….

And I’m thinking cool, it has all the elements I love. Unrequited love. Check. Secret Crush. Check. Exotic Location. Check. Friends who become lovers (one of my fav romance staples.) Check. And I am ready and raring to go. I am actually looking forward to this book. I’m thinking it might actually redeem this author. I mean, nothing with this pretty a cover can be bad, right?

WRONG!

What the blurb failed to tell me was the heroine was a pet psychic. She specializes in cats. The object of her affection was a CEO of a billion dollar company. Hmm, can you see why he might not take her seriously? So she runs away to Greece to have a fling cause that’s where her mom and aunt both found thier true loves. She instantly becomes involved with a murder and in drawn in because one of the only witnesses is a cat, who is trying to get to another injured cat. Roman, meanwhile, having taken leave of his everloving mind decides to follow our intrepid cat whisperer to Greece to make sure she doesn’t get hurt. Why? I don’t understand as all he does is lamely follow her about as she runs from one corner of the island to the other trying to find the missing cat, while being shot at by thieves and murderers. The fact that they solve the mystery is only a by-product of the cat hunt. Add to the fact that every scene they had together just seemed to be an info dump of massive proportions to try and interest us in the insanely boring mystery and it was friggin’ awful. The h/h had no chemistry and I had to wonder if Roman had had a lobotomy to want to be with this insane woman. Not to mention that the parts from Philly’s pov were written in the first person whereas Roman’s was written in the third person. That was completely disorientating and would have pulled my out of the story if I had been interested in it to begin with.

I have been burned twice now by this author never again. Cara Summers is now officially on my shit-list. Talk about being mislead. This book should have been called ‘Lie TO Me.’

But I have to defend my love of the Blaze line and thankfully I had some great titles to wipe the bad smell that book left in my head. Namely Sarah Mayberry. Where Cara Summers is the devil, Sarah Mayberry is God. She did a three part mini-series which I picked up because I’m glomming her after reading ‘Anything For You‘ which was the best ‘friends become lovers’ romance I have ever read. BAR NONE!

These three books were fab. In turns, funny and sad, Sarah manages to squeeze every ounce of emotion from a situation without resorting to tricks and her HEA’s are sublime. Every one of her books has had me in tears at some point. And she used to write scripts for Neighbours, how awesome is that?

Read them, I dare you. And then tell me she is not a fabulous writer.

  1. “What the blurb failed to tell me was the heroine was a pet psychic. She specializes in cats. “

    Oh, dear god. I just saw this premise somewhere else and I threw up a little in my mouth.

    Run, Roman, RUN!! She doesn’t deserve you!

    • Sayuri_x
    • July 9th, 2008

    Heh. There is one scene in the book where she is sitting on a billion dollar yacht with not one, but three millionaires and quite earnestly disscussing what the dog (a little frou-frou Paris Hilton dog) of one of the millionaires is feeling.

    AND THEY ARE ALL SITTING THERE TAKING HER SERIOUSLY!

    I mean come on, I grew up reading fantasy and sci-fi and even I have a hard time with that.

    My brain needs a good scrubbing with steel wool to forget this. I feel so dirty. *sob*

  2. OH yeah a new blog to read!!! i have to admit I am bias towards blaze and NO i have no loving idea why. I think I got burned by the virgin/sec. angle too many times I did try their nocturnes and they are really hit or miss.

  3. Oh, this book sounds wonderful! I must have it now!

    (yeah right!)
    LOLOLOL

  4. Hi Sayuri. I just saw your post over at Dear Author on the Cruise Control review. You’ve been such a lovely and persistent support of my books, I’d love to send you whatever back copies you don’t have already. I figure you might as well have a nice new one from me than a ratty old one from the second hand market. Drop me a line on the email I provided with your snail mail and I’ll get Cruise Control and whatever else you need out to you.
    Cheers and once again thanks for taking the time to blog about my work.
    Sarah

  1. July 28th, 2008

Leave a Reply

