Round -Up

So I have been silent for most of the weekend and into the week.

I don’t have Olympic Fever.

I think I may be the only person on the planet NOT watching the Olympics. When I tell someone this they look at me as if I’m some kind of traitor to crown and country. I get the distinct feeling they would spit on me if they could. What’s the big? I mean, I watched the men’s swimming and diving. Oh, and the men’s gymnastics (bendy!) after that, it pretty blah for me…. heh-ho!

So I finally got Jen to read Long Hard Ride! I count it as a grand victory, even if I did have to bribe her with a reading of Pleasure Unbound in kind. I also count this as a victory for me as Larissa Ione’s Pleasure Unbound was A-W-E-S-O-M-E!

After I got past the hero’s name (Eidolon) and a couple of shaky initial chapters it rocked along. Great characters, some really clever and intuitive world-building. I loved all the disparate threads that wove around around each other like a big messy ball of twine until at the end it all came together like a giant cat’s cradle. (Oh yes, I have been visited by the metaphor fairy tonight.) I’m hooked and will definitely been buying the next installment as soon as! Another fan-girl is created. SQUEE for Wraith. (He’s my fav…)

In other realms, my unrelenting pimping of my favourite cowboys has hooked some more fans. Over at Rip My Bodice they are eating up the McKay clan! Who wouldn’t? Right?

Also I found this really great new website called Reading Romance Books (through Sarai, who else? *g*). It has a really nice, clean, easy to navigate website and a great new forum. I prefer getting in at the ground floor in forums because it’s easier to get to know people than in a well-established forum with lots of people who are tight. Anyho, everyone is really nice and I have joined the Book Club there. Mainly because I have never participated in a Book Club before and I’m curious. September’s book is Outlander by Diana Gabaldon. Which for some weird reason has been renamed Cross-stitch in the UK.

There are a couple of internet campaigns I am going to join up with as well. One is Blogger Appriecation Week. The other is The Ban On Spending Challenge. You’ll see stuff go up in the side bar as I get things ready.

I have really fallen deep into the dreaded historical genre and have been soundly seduced by Julia Quinn and her Bridgerton series. I love, love , love it.

But most surprising this week has been my new found fan-girl for all things CHERUB. I’m going to be doing a series review soon as I must gush appropriately about these books. And shock! Horror! They aren’t romance. Check back later in the week, once I have sweated a coherent, yet rambling pimpage of this great series.

  1. And another one bites the dust! Welcome to more blogging groups and of course more time sucking books *g*
    Hey love the new format FYI
    Glad to have ya back. I plan to pick up the Long Hard Ride once my ban on buying books is done!

    • Sayuri_x
    • August 19th, 2008

    I needed another sidebar for all my crap!

    I sent you LHR. You no need to buy it! *g*

  2. I’m not watching the Olympics, either. They just don’t interest me.

  3. I don’t like the olympics. They’re okay for some people, but they just aren’t my cup of tea.

  4. Also not watching the olympics. yawn. so sue me.

    I like your new layout but I miss the heart from the old header.

  5. Maybe its just the fact that Man Candy really stands out more on this page… OMG I think your list might be longer than mine and were you smart enough to put new books on there like JL’s book OMG I heart you!

    Oh I can tell you which I books I hated so that way you can pretended to read them and then… no? probably not a good idea to encourage you to cheat LOL! Actually I tink I have read like on 10 on your list…

  6. I love the layout! I didn’t recognize the page when I got here. I thought I’d gone to the wrong place! LOL

    I’m not interested in watching the Olympics either. I’ve been called all sorts of things for it, including “un-American”. Bah.

    Long Hard Ride was okay. The story was only 3 stars for me, but I did love Colby.

    I’m reading a historical right now as well. If you like Julia Quinn, I think you’ll like Jillian Hunter. I’m not a fan of the Dreaded Historical, but I love Jillian Hunter. Her stand-alone Victorian novel Indiscretion is fabulous, and her Boscastle series is even better. Yum!

    Now I guess I’ve gotta go look up this cherub thing…

    • Sayuri_x
    • August 20th, 2008

    Jen – I started reading the CHERUB series for a work related thing and it is so far outside what I normally read, I’m not sure of any of guys will like it, but I love them so much I HAVE to wax lyrical! *g*

    Sarai – That particular Man Candy stands out cos his ass is frickin awesome! That’s what got your attention. And the tat.

    I put new books on the list that haven’t been published but that I have either pre-ordered or put money aside for already. I know it cheating but ther is NO FORCE on the planet that is going to keep me away from the new Adrien English novel. Or Nalini Singhs next installment or Meljean Brooks. Call me weak. It’s only 3 books! *g*

    Nicola – I miss my heart too, but I can’t customise the header in this layout (or I don’t know enough about editing css to do it) I needed more sidebar space. I hate a messy side bar!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

