To read or re-read…..

Jen gave me a row and told me to get my arse in gear and get a new post up, asking about what I have been reading in the interim.

To be honest I had a couple of shaky weeks. I have still been reading, but not really enjoying it much. I’ve been kind of twitchy. I want to re-read some old comfort reads and my eyes keep lingering over the BDB books (but I just re-read them all in June…) or Marjorie M. Lui’s Dirk & Steele series.

But then, my eyes fall on the TBR pile and I can’t. I little voice inside my head says, ‘You can’t re-read those books, look at all those books you’ve bought and you haven’t read yet.’ I start to feel really guilty that I have spent all this money on these books and haven’t looked at them twice since bringing them home and hoisting them up to the summit of the ever-expanding pile.

This friggin’ pile of books is starting to loom over me like some kind of gigantic monolith casting its cold, dark shadow over my reading pleasure. It’s such a silly thing to feel guilty over, but there you have it. Every time I start to glom a new author (This week it has been Laura Lee Guhrke – Thanks Sarai!) I think…YOU HAVE ENOUGH! NO MORE UNTIL YOU GET RID OF THIS LOT!

It’s even more difficult keeping track with the e-books. (Probably because I can get my hands on almost anything and if you know the right places, it’s free! *cough* )

It just keeps growing and growing and growing….it’s starting to remind me of the Trapper Keeper on South Park. One day I’m going to wake up to find it has absorbed me into it’s hellish bowels.

With all this guilt hanging over me, I haven’t been enjoying anything much, so I think, ‘Fuck it, let’s just read ….’ but I. just. can’t. make. myself.

Am I destined never to re-read anything ever again? Will my frugal Scottish roots forever barr me from re-visiting the wonder of Matt Farrell or what about my favourite Dakotan ranchin’ family, The McKays! Or my favourite gay bookseller, Adrien?

I want to have a happy relationship with my TBR pile, but it seems I will have to bear the emotional blackmail and the many recriminations it sends my way when I look towards an old friend. It’s not cheating, is it?

Is there a twelve step program out there for people like me? People with an obsessive need to keep. reading. new. books.

HELP *whimper*

  1. I’m beginning to think that I’m a freak when it comes to books. I read terribly fast and all at once. I don’t have a TBR pile, but maybe this will help. I suggest reading what YOU want to read. If you want to visit some old favorite, go ahead and do so. Don’t feel guilty that you’re ignoring your TBR pile.

    Remember, reading is supposed to be for pleasure. Enjoy what you’ve already enjoyed and maybe, just maybe, you’ll decide to move on once you’ve done so. Just a thought. 🙂

    • Sayuri_x
    • September 24th, 2008

    Heh. Sage advice.

    I do read quickly and almost exclusively. But when it comes to books. I’m just like that greedy little kid. My eyes are too big for my stomach. When I read a book I like, I instantly go and glom that authors entire back-cat. Surfing reviews sites is a danger to my wallet and my sanity at the moment.

    This month alone I have glommed Laura Lee Guhrke, Jennifer Cruise and Angela Knight. That like another 20 freakin’ books on the pile. That’s at least another twenty-five days reading.

    It’s too much pressure. *g*

  2. Ooh, I made you do a new post. I feel so powerful!! 😛

    Good grief, can we say “obsessive compulsive”? LOL

    I have over 285 books on my TBR shelf. Sometimes I do feel guilty for spending so much money on my books, but I don’t really feel guilty for “neglecting” them. I’m also not really the type of person to re-read books (I feel like I have too many TBR books and not enough time for re-reads), though I do have a keeper shelf for books I might want to revisit some time in the distant future.

    I dunno. I’m pretty laid back about reading. It provides me entertainment, relaxation, and mental stimulation, so I try not to stress out about it.

    What DOES stress me out is reviewing and blogging. I love reading, but feeling obligated to review books and entertain (or annoy) other people often feels like a big chore.

    • Sayuri_x
    • September 24th, 2008

    You do have the power Jen. The power to make me blog badly and with many dramatic overtones!

    (I feel like I have too many TBR books and not enough time for re-reads)

    That’s exactly where it’s coming from. I feel this pressure to always read something new because there is so much of it sitting there in my TBR pile and I don’t have the time to read something again.

    I used to love reading then re-reading the same book. I just haven’t done it a lot this year. *sigh*

    I agree on the reviewing thing. Mostly cause I’m too busy reading but also because I’m rubbish at it. Who wants to read a gusher? Honestly, it’s not pretty. 🙂

  3. I’ve really had to work on my reviewing since I started the blog…especially now that I’m doing a few ARC’s. Knowing the publisher’s PR contact and probably the author will be reading the review adds a lot of pressure. Not so much pressure to get it right, but just an obligation to get it done by a certain time and please all the right people.

    It won’t keep me from writing negative reviews or anything. I’ll just have to learn to do it nicely. 😀

    My TBR guilt has increased a little bit now that I’m focusing on reading books I *need* to read vs. books I *want* to read, but it’s still nowhere near as bad as my blog guilt.

  4. Hey why do I get blamed for the new author list? I’ve personally been in a reading slump that I am hoping to get out of soon! Gawd help me I need to get out of it!

    • Sayuri_x
    • September 28th, 2008

    Sarai – You’re getting blamed cause you were the one who recommended Ms. Guhrke to me. SO it’s all your fault. (Mind you she is shockingly awesome! I have loved every book I have read of hers so far!)

  5. Hi Sayuri, I can’t believe I’d never come across your blog until CJ mentioned it. Very cool place you have here!

    I used to never have a TBR stack either. Mostly because I ride the train to and from work, which makes for lots of reading time. But then I started reviewing, and the books just keep coming. And I keep asking for them. And I keep shopping for them.

    It’s some sort of syndrome I think.

    Good luck getting through your stack!

  6. This friggin’ pile of books is starting to loom over me like some kind of gigantic monolith casting its cold, dark shadow over my reading pleasure.

    And here I thought I was the only one! Honestly I’m right there with you! I’ve had this incredible urge to read Lover Awakened again and yet I look at my TBR and something in my face starts to twitch!

    Let’s start our own 12 step program!!!

  1. January 10th, 2010

Leave a Reply

