Showing off my crazy

I have many obsessions hobbies. They come and go, ebb and flow like the tide. Some months I’m knitting like I have to clothe the entire population of Edinburgh in stylish Noro beanies, the next I am watching entirely too much TV. I’m always reading. I go on music binges. I live a life of excess. *g*

But my longest and strongest obsession hobby has been the band, a-ha. What can I say? I love the music, I love the guys, and even after being soured on the fan community by a spiteful minority, most of all I still love the fans. Some of my best friends are a-ha fans. I might not see them every day. I might not talk to them every day or even for months on end, but I know they will always be there when I call, when they’re needed just as I would be for them. I’m lucky. I could travel to almost any country in the world and have a bed or floor I could kip on for the night.

Some of my most fond memories, memories that I’ll still remember in my dotage are what I class as ‘a-ha’ memories. Travelling to New York on my own to see them play the Irving Plaza. Queuing all day long in heat, in rain, in snow. Running a German assault course to get front row at an arena gig. Playing ‘Private Eye’ and tailing the tour bus only to lose them at 3 in the morning, on a deserted stretch on motorway. I suck at tailing people. Going to the Wembley Crowne Plaza to discover it’s infested with fleas. The running joke that I watch every concert through a camera lens (I have around 200 pictures per concert. With nearly 40 concerts attended that’s a lot of piccies.) The excitement of finding out the band were using two of my pictures in their ‘Analogue’ tour programme. Four of us, sleeping in my tiny car, at a motorway services ioutside Cardiff, in the middle of winter cause we hadn’t booked a hotel for that night. Going to Oslo for the first time and discovering what a insanely amazing city it is. Working on the website with an amazing bunch of fellow fans, each one a star. And the joy of just hearing the music I love, live. Sharing it with people who have the same connection with it that I do. It’s humbling.

I haven’t really blogged about my boys though since I left the community. I needed some time away. To gain perspective. I still love the music and my peeps.

What set off my wee ramble about my boys? Three years ago we decided as fans to produce a calendar for the fans, made from fans concert piccies. It was a massive success and it was purdy. They did another one last year and it was so successful again that the band have decided to produce one themselves this year. They were asking for submissions on flickr, so I flooded them with all my concert pics and they are going to use some.  YAY.

And it got me to thinking and looking through old photos and I realized something. Two years is too long not to hear ‘The Sun Always Shines On TV’ live. I think I need a concert. Like yesterday.

See! Stiff nips!

Twenty years on and they’re still pretty.

Hello mama! How’s that for a crotch shot. Heh.

BTW Morten just became a dad again for the fifth time at age 49! Oh yes… Hmmmmmmmmm Morten!

    • jetmykles
    • October 1st, 2008

    Damn! They are still pretty O_O
    I haven’t thought about them in years but I was rather fond of them back in the day. Lovely eye candy 🙂

    • Sayuri_x
    • October 1st, 2008

    Jet,

    Oh yes, they have aged very well, like fine wine. I still can’t wrap my head around the fact that Morten will be 50 YEARS OLD on his next birthday. I think he may be Dorian Grey.

    You should dust off that old cassette player and get playing ‘Hunting High And Low’. It’s still an ace album!

    • jetmykles
    • October 1st, 2008

    My SO was with me at Yaoicon and getting hit on by all these young people and he’s nearly 50 too. He has aged so very well (lucky me *g*)
    I know a bunch of men nearing the big 5-0 who still look mighty fine!

  1. Ahhhhh, A-ha. Yeah, I remember my mad crush that I had on Morten when I was about…12? Hunting High and Low was one of my favorite albums when I was a girl and I listened to it until the tape died a sad, lonely death. I think I should go try to find it used. Hmm… 🙂

    And he has aged well. I saw him on Graham Norton (I think it was) and remember thinking A. It’s a crime that someone that old is still that hot and B. He definitely thinks quite highly of himself. he-he

  2. Congratulations! Still one of my favorite bands, and I listen to their music often.

    • Sayuri_x
    • October 1st, 2008

    Heh! Bridget…

    You’re right he was on Graham Norton and yes, Morten does think quite highly of himself. But for all his arrogance (and he has it in spades!) he is still one of the most charming men I have ever met.

    However, just one more example of how we like our alphas in the books but in real life, not so much!

    He still has the voice of an angel tho…..*sigh*

  3. Please forgive me for this…

    But I have no idea who they are!

  4. Apparently I am missing out on this group. Crap I must discover more and listen to this band.

  5. They ARE still pretty aren’t they. My lord I haven’t thought of a-ha in forever but I loved their music way back when. I’ll have to dig that out! 🙂

    • Qouda
    • October 2nd, 2008

    I preferred him up close and personal – but then you know that ;0P

    And the day he doesn’t have stiff nips, on display, it’s game over LOL

    • Sayuri_x
    • October 2nd, 2008

    Quoda!

    Where you been hiding?

    Yep, Morten without stiff nips is like a hooker without implants!

    • a.b
    • October 3rd, 2008

    slept in a car overnight – in the middle of winter -at a motorway services…..what kind of fool’s do that ;-}

    are you allowed to tell us which of your pics got chosen for the calender then or is it top secret?!

    • Sayuri_x
    • October 3rd, 2008

    If I remember correctly AB, that would be you sleeping in the back of my tourmobile! *g* Freezing our asses off! Ahhh good times, good times!

    The pictures aren’t top secret but it would be interesting to see if you knew which was mine when you got the calendar! I’m a tease I know!

    • furumaniac
    • October 7th, 2008

    Yay! Well done you for getting your pics selected!

    xx

    (this is Tall Nicola, btw!)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

