A Week In Reading

I used to do this on the now defunct Book Pron and I enjoyed giving my mini lightning reviews. I hosed the idea from Tracy over at Tracy’s Place. (I am unashamed in my pilfering of ideas.)

So what did I read this week?

It was a week of Kitty for me. I started on the Kitty Norville series by author Carrie Vaughn and really enjoyed it. I made it through five of six books. I haven’t purchased the seventh instalment yet, but I shall. Soon. Also managed to squeeze in Carol Lynne’s new one.

Kitty and the Midnight Hour.

I really loved the voice of Kitty in this first book and some of my favourite moments came from Kitty’s interaction with her radio audience. I also liked that Kitty wasn’t an alpha werewolf from the start. You know, get bitten and suddenly you are Amazon Alpha, the strongest, most sexually alluring  female werewolf on the planet. Kitty had issues with her pack and she was the lowest on the rung. It made a nice change.


Kitty Goes to Washington.

In this instalment Kitty is a rolling stone that gathers no moss. Going from town to town doing her show, she is finds herself in hot water when she lands in Washington. I enjoyed Vaughn’s vision of  how the world would react to supernatural elements being brought into the public domain. There was no mass hysteria but Vaughn managed to convey a sense of unease and tension through the whole book. Her description of how violated Kitty feels at the end of the book was really well done.


Kitty Goes On Holiday.

I loved this book. This was where it all changed. One minute I knew where the characters were going the next I was like ‘Whoa!’ And I loved being surprised like that. Plus, for some reason there were many places in this book where I was scared out of my wits. Some real evil mo-fo’s here.


Kitty And The Silver Bullet.

This is the one I had been waiting for. Kitty returns to Denver and faces her demons. It all felt a little anti-climatic at points but that is because it wasn’t a drama-filled angst-fest which I appreciated. Introduction of a few new characters was interesting and mention of ‘The Long Game.’


Kitty And The Dead Man’s Hand

This was where it fell apart slightly for me. The plot was a mess and unfocused and I didn’t really see the point of the book at all except as a lead in to the next book. T’was a shame but you can’t hit home runs every time.


Seb’s Surrender – Carol Lynne

My guilty pleasure is Carol Lynne. I know she writes basically the same story over and over but there is a kind of comfort in that too, you know. I know they are angst-ridden and the smexxoring is unrealistic but I kinda don’t care. Crack with a capital C. I liked this second book in her Bodyguards series much more than the first although the first was good too. Who would think you could have a security company that specializes in gay bodyguards? But it works. As always interesting set-up and characters are let down by the storytelling but I still enjoyed it. If you let go and just read she is fab.

So there you have it, not a bad haul for the week. What about everyone else? Anything particularly noteworthy, in an good or bad way.

  1. I have to admit, I haven’t read past Dead Man’s Hand. I wasn’t in love with it, especially the way Ben was just shuffled off for most of the book in what turned out to be an oddly anti-climactic fashion. I was so excited that I was going to FINALLY get to see an urban fantasy couple kicking ass side-by-side, so my heart got broken a little. 😦

    • Sayuri_x
    • January 19th, 2010

    I KNOW! I was gutted when he just disappeared for most of the book and it didn’t really feel like Kitty was all that worried.

    Too much going on and really disappointed but if it’s any consolation ‘Raises Hell’ is much better and her and Ben are a TEAM.

      • Bree
      • January 19th, 2010

      That has really started to become one of my pet peeves of late. I am soooo all for “girl power YAY” and all, but I enjoy a book so much more if characters have strong relationships and beat the bad guys together, as a team, instead of the main heroine lone-gunning it by herself.

      Maybe that’s my epic fantasy showing again. :p It’s always a party of adventurers, damn it!

  2. I like the mini reviews too. 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

